Inverarity (inverarity) wrote in bookish,
Inverarity
inverarity
bookish

Sleeping Giants, by Sylvain Neuvel

World War Z meets giant robots.


Sleeping Giants

Del Rey, 2016, pages320



An inventive debut in the tradition of World War Z and The Martian, told in interviews, journal entries, transcripts, and news articles, Sleeping Giants is a literary thriller fueled by a quest for truth - and a fight for control of earthshaking power.

A girl named Rose is riding her new bike near her home in Deadwood, South Dakota, when she falls through the earth. She wakes up at the bottom of a square hole, its walls glowing with intricate carvings. But the firemen who come to save her peer down upon something even stranger: a little girl in the palm of a giant metal hand.

Seventeen years later, the mystery of the bizarre artifact remains unsolved - its origins, architects, and purpose unknown. Its carbon dating defies belief; military reports are redacted; theories are floated, then rejected.

But some can never stop searching for answers.

Rose Franklin is now a highly trained physicist leading a top-secret team to crack the hand's code. And along with her colleagues, she is being interviewed by a nameless interrogator whose power and purview are as enigmatic as the provenance of relic. What's clear is that Rose and her compatriots are on the edge of unraveling history's most perplexing discovery - and figuring out what it portends for humanity. But once the pieces of the puzzle are in place, will the result prove to be an instrument of lasting peace or a weapon of mass destruction?


How to make a serious sci-fi novel out of Voltron.




My complete list of book reviews.
Tags: author: n, genre: science fiction, review
Subscribe

  • The Apothecary Diaries 03

    The Apothecary Diaries 03 by Natsu Hyuuga Another manga of detection and life in the castle -- this time, also in the nearby pleasure quarter where…

  • Sweet Little Lies, by Caz Frear

    A police procedural about a lady DC who's kind of a trainwreck. Harper, 2017, 344 pages In this gripping debut procedural, a young London…

  • Before the Coffee Gets Cold, by Toshikazu Kawaguchi

    You can travel back in time for as long as your coffee stays hot. Picador, 2019, 227 pages If you could go back, who would you want to…

  • Post a new comment

    Error

    default userpic

    Your reply will be screened

    When you submit the form an invisible reCAPTCHA check will be performed.
    You must follow the Privacy Policy and Google Terms of use.
  • 1 comment