marycatelli (marycatelli) wrote in bookish,
marycatelli
marycatelli
bookish

Meditations on Middle Earth

Meditations on Middle Earth: New Writing on the Worlds of J. R. R. Tolkien by Karen Haber

A series of essays on Tolkien.

The commonest one was "the impact The Lord of the Rings had on my life and writing". A lot of them picked it up in the 60s or 70s when, really, there wasn't that much fantasy about. Terry Pratchett actually got pointed at Beowulf when he asked for more books like it -- fortunately he noticed books that had guys with helmets on theri covers and dived in.  (That shelf was marked History, BTW.)    One discussed Bored of the Rings and how it taught her the comic effect. One actually found "On Fairy Stories" the one with deep impact.  Another's first reaction was how on earth can I keep on writing when the most amazing book has already been written.

Also discussion of his treatment of elves, analysis of his patterns, and a few other looks about.
Tags: author: h, category: essay, genre: non-fiction, review
Subscribe

  • The Jane Austen Project, by Kathleen Flynn

    Time Travelers go back in time to meet Jane Austen. Harper Perennial, 2017, 384 pages Perfect for fans of Jane Austen, this engrossing…

  • Mistress of the Waves

    Mistress of the Waves by George Phillies On another world, the narrator is fishing from her boat when an off-worlder is swept from his. She has to…

  • The Oracle Stone by Talli Morgan

    The Oracle Stone by Talli Morgan was awesome. Three mages are looking for a magical artefact, but things aren't as simple as they look. The author…

  • Post a new comment

    Error

    default userpic

    Your reply will be screened

    When you submit the form an invisible reCAPTCHA check will be performed.
    You must follow the Privacy Policy and Google Terms of use.
  • 0 comments