marycatelli (marycatelli) wrote in bookish,
marycatelli
marycatelli
bookish

Morphology of the Folktale

Morphology of the Folktale by Vladimir Propp

An incredibly academic analysis of fairy tales.  If you're not merely interested in fairy tales but also variants and things like that, you are very likely to like it.

Note that familiarity with tales, especially Russian ones, helps a lot to recognize what he's talking about.  (All the Russian tales are identified by number.  I wouldn't mind that so much -- all of Brother Grimms' do, too, though you may need the right edition -- and of course he uses Alexander Afanasyev's -- if I could find a translation that bothered to give me the numbers.)

But the break down into the abstract functions and characters and other elements is fascinating, with some colorful details about the possibilities.
Tags: author: p, genre: non-fiction, review
Subscribe

Recent Posts from This Community

  • The Jane Austen Project, by Kathleen Flynn

    Time Travelers go back in time to meet Jane Austen. Harper Perennial, 2017, 384 pages Perfect for fans of Jane Austen, this engrossing…

  • Mistress of the Waves

    Mistress of the Waves by George Phillies On another world, the narrator is fishing from her boat when an off-worlder is swept from his. She has to…

  • The Oracle Stone by Talli Morgan

    The Oracle Stone by Talli Morgan was awesome. Three mages are looking for a magical artefact, but things aren't as simple as they look. The author…

  • Post a new comment

    Error

    default userpic

    Your reply will be screened

    When you submit the form an invisible reCAPTCHA check will be performed.
    You must follow the Privacy Policy and Google Terms of use.
  • 0 comments