audrey_e (audrey_e) wrote in bookish,
audrey_e
audrey_e
bookish

27-30: The Hunger Games Trilogy (finishing up year 2014)

Originally posted by audrey_e at Books 27-30: The Hunger Games Trilogy (finishing up year 2014)
Books 27-30: The Hunger Games Trilogy Suzanne Collins (US, 2008-2010)



I read this trilogy before a stressful exam session, because I assumed it would be easy to read and relaxing. I had not been overly impressed with the movies, but I recognized there was enough of a good story for me to forget about my exams.

I must say this series was of a higher quality than I expected, considering the young adult genre is mostly an intellectual desert. The writing style is nothing interesting (and actually gets quite bad when romantic relationships are discribed), but not in a way that overly spoilt my reading experience It says a lot about the books that I found them to be a page turner when I knew most of the story through the movies.

Just like in the on-screen adaptation Katniss, the main character, is very bland, but the cast of characters around her is colorful enough to make up for her lack of complexity. More importantly, the commentary on the political power of the media is certainly thought-provoking.

Mockingjay is, however, messy and confusing enough that it would've benefited from further editing. I appreciate the author's attempt to break away from conventional endings to further illustrate her themes, unfortunately the execution is lacking.

1: 3/5
2: 3/5
3: 2/5
Tags: author: c, genre: fantasy, genre: fiction, review
Subscribe

  • The Jane Austen Project, by Kathleen Flynn

    Time Travelers go back in time to meet Jane Austen. Harper Perennial, 2017, 384 pages Perfect for fans of Jane Austen, this engrossing…

  • Mistress of the Waves

    Mistress of the Waves by George Phillies On another world, the narrator is fishing from her boat when an off-worlder is swept from his. She has to…

  • The Oracle Stone by Talli Morgan

    The Oracle Stone by Talli Morgan was awesome. Three mages are looking for a magical artefact, but things aren't as simple as they look. The author…

  • Post a new comment

    Error

    default userpic

    Your reply will be screened

    When you submit the form an invisible reCAPTCHA check will be performed.
    You must follow the Privacy Policy and Google Terms of use.
  • 5 comments