Inverarity (inverarity) wrote in bookish,
Inverarity
inverarity
bookish

Altered Carbon, by Richard Morgan

Dashiell Hammett + William Gibson in a noir cyberpunk thriller which is better than most.


Altered Carbon

Del Rey, 2002, 526 pages



In the 25th century, humankind has spread throughout the galaxy, monitored by the watchful eye of the U.N. While divisions in race, religion, and class still exist, advances in technology have redefined life itself. Now, assuming one can afford the expensive procedure, a person's consciousness can be stored in a cortical stack at the base of the brain and easily downloaded into a new body (or "sleeve") making death nothing more than a minor blip on a screen.

Ex-U.N. envoy Takeshi Kovacs has been killed before, but his last death was particularly painful. Dispatched 180 light-years from home, re-sleeved into a body in Bay City (formerly San Francisco, now with a rusted, dilapidated Golden Gate Bridge), Kovacs is thrown into the dark heart of a shady, far-reaching conspiracy that is vicious even by the standards of a society that treats "existence" as something that can be bought and sold. For Kovacs, the shell that blew a hole in his chest was only the beginning.


Yes, it's everything Requires Only That You Hate said it was, but it's still pretty entertaining.




My complete list of book reviews.
Tags: genre: fiction, genre: science fiction, review, xxx author last name: i-q
Subscribe

  • The Black Arrow

    The Black Arrow by Robert Louis Stevenson Action and adventure during the War of the Roses. Young Dick Shelton finds himself in the middle of…

  • Strategikon

    Maurice's Strategikon: Handbook of Byzantine Military Strategy translated by George T. Dennis This is definitely a book for a select audience.…

  • The Jane Austen Project, by Kathleen Flynn

    Time Travelers go back in time to meet Jane Austen. Harper Perennial, 2017, 384 pages Perfect for fans of Jane Austen, this engrossing…

  • Post a new comment

    Error

    default userpic

    Your reply will be screened

    When you submit the form an invisible reCAPTCHA check will be performed.
    You must follow the Privacy Policy and Google Terms of use.
  • 0 comments