Electron (little_e_) wrote in bookish,
Electron
little_e_
bookish

Paleonutrition, by Mark Sutton et al.

Just to be clear, this is a textbook introduction to paleonutrition research and methodology (the first 170 pages) with 5 nutrition-related case studies (the last 70 pages). The case studies themselves are not strictly paleonutrition, as they all involve more recent human populations, but they are still interesting. If you're going into archeology and considering the paleonutrition field, you'll probably enjoy this book. If you are just interested in the "paleo-diet" or what our ancestors ate, you want a different book. It would be nice if the author had used footnotes instead of in-line citations, because some parts of the book are very, very heavy with the citations. Don't let this put you off, though. As a total non-academic, not an archaeology student I still enjoyed the book and found it reasonably accessible, if a little drier than my usual fare.
Subscribe

  • The Black Arrow

    The Black Arrow by Robert Louis Stevenson Action and adventure during the War of the Roses. Young Dick Shelton finds himself in the middle of…

  • Strategikon

    Maurice's Strategikon: Handbook of Byzantine Military Strategy translated by George T. Dennis This is definitely a book for a select audience.…

  • The Jane Austen Project, by Kathleen Flynn

    Time Travelers go back in time to meet Jane Austen. Harper Perennial, 2017, 384 pages Perfect for fans of Jane Austen, this engrossing…

  • Post a new comment

    Error

    default userpic

    Your reply will be screened

    When you submit the form an invisible reCAPTCHA check will be performed.
    You must follow the Privacy Policy and Google Terms of use.
  • 0 comments