spooky_miss (spooky_miss) wrote in bookish,
spooky_miss
spooky_miss
bookish

  • Mood:

Gone With The Wind

Just a quick question about this book....

Are we supposed to like Scarlett O'Hara? I'm about 2/3 through the book and she is just coming across as so horrible and selfish! I thought it was supposed to be romantic but I'm just not getting that at all...

Maybe I'm just not into that kind of romantic book though, as the two most horrible characters I've ever read are Heathcliff and the woman from Wuthering Heights. Before reading that I'd never hated characters quite so much, but Scarlett O'Hara is coming close.

Overall I am enjoying the book (although I think it is way too long) as I want to know what happens to the rest of her family and friends, but I just don't like her at all!
Tags: discussion, genre: romance
Subscribe

  • The Black Arrow

    The Black Arrow by Robert Louis Stevenson Action and adventure during the War of the Roses. Young Dick Shelton finds himself in the middle of…

  • Strategikon

    Maurice's Strategikon: Handbook of Byzantine Military Strategy translated by George T. Dennis This is definitely a book for a select audience.…

  • The Jane Austen Project, by Kathleen Flynn

    Time Travelers go back in time to meet Jane Austen. Harper Perennial, 2017, 384 pages Perfect for fans of Jane Austen, this engrossing…

  • Post a new comment

    Error

    default userpic

    Your reply will be screened

    When you submit the form an invisible reCAPTCHA check will be performed.
    You must follow the Privacy Policy and Google Terms of use.
  • 21 comments

  • The Black Arrow

    The Black Arrow by Robert Louis Stevenson Action and adventure during the War of the Roses. Young Dick Shelton finds himself in the middle of…

  • Strategikon

    Maurice's Strategikon: Handbook of Byzantine Military Strategy translated by George T. Dennis This is definitely a book for a select audience.…

  • The Jane Austen Project, by Kathleen Flynn

    Time Travelers go back in time to meet Jane Austen. Harper Perennial, 2017, 384 pages Perfect for fans of Jane Austen, this engrossing…