seriously evil witch here, guys! (irnan) wrote in bookish,
seriously evil witch here, guys!
irnan
bookish

Lyonesse, by Jack Vance

It ought to be a law of fantasy literature: The Blurb On The Back Is Always Misleading. My Gollancz edition of Jack Vance's Lyonesse has a blurb that talks about the story of Princess Suldrun and her doomed love; it's certainly an integral part of the book, but anyone coming to Lyonesse expecting a tragic, epic, deeply romantic love story is probably going to be disappointed.

Lyonesse is the story of the Elder Isles, now sunk beneath the sea, from whence came Uther Pendragon, father of Arthur King of Cornwall. There are magicians and sendings and fairies, magic mirrors and scheming kings, less-than-virtuous Christian missionaries, gullible queens, mad kings, amibitious dukes. Suldrun's love Prince Aillas is the main protagonist of the second half of the book, following his quest to regain his freedom and his rightful throne as well as find his son.

Vance writes grippingly, his style somewhere between the matter-of-fact fairytales of the Brothers Grimm and a dry, acerbic sense of humour: for example, it's hard not to grin at King Casmir, Suldrun's scheming, pretentious father, while every misfortune the protagonists meet with makes the reader flinch in horror and read on doggedly. The landscapes are beautifully drawn, the characters sketched in just a few words. The emotional climax of the book, Aillas' reunion with his son Dhrun, isn't even shown: instead we see Dhrun having his father pointed out to him, and then a paragraph break and a new point-of-view: an incredibly powerful scene, I thought.

It's the first book of a trilogy, and I can't wait to get my hands on the sequels.

Tags: xxx author last name: r-z
Subscribe

  • The Black Arrow

    The Black Arrow by Robert Louis Stevenson Action and adventure during the War of the Roses. Young Dick Shelton finds himself in the middle of…

  • Strategikon

    Maurice's Strategikon: Handbook of Byzantine Military Strategy translated by George T. Dennis This is definitely a book for a select audience.…

  • The Jane Austen Project, by Kathleen Flynn

    Time Travelers go back in time to meet Jane Austen. Harper Perennial, 2017, 384 pages Perfect for fans of Jane Austen, this engrossing…

  • Post a new comment

    Error

    default userpic

    Your reply will be screened

    When you submit the form an invisible reCAPTCHA check will be performed.
    You must follow the Privacy Policy and Google Terms of use.
  • 8 comments