the world just screams and falls apart (flamycakes) wrote in bookish,
the world just screams and falls apart
flamycakes
bookish

childhood trauma caused by reading

Once upon a time, I was ten or eleven, sitting in my fifth-grade classroom. I'm pretty sure my jaw had dropped and my eyebrows slanted in fright and disbelief.

Our teacher was reading a short story by Ray Bradbury aloud, There Will Come Soft Rains. It describes a robotic house that keeps functioning after its human inhabitants have been eradicated by some sort of bomb.

Now, I'm very grateful that the teacher read this story. It introduced me to Ray Bradbury, for one thing, and the more we read the longer we spent time doing things other than math. But it also blew my mind and traumatized me just the teensiest bit. C'mon, I was like, eleven, and the story hints at horrible, horrible nuclear war!

Did you ever read a story that was a little too mature for you, traumatizing your poor younger self? Let's hear it.
Subscribe

  • The Black Arrow

    The Black Arrow by Robert Louis Stevenson Action and adventure during the War of the Roses. Young Dick Shelton finds himself in the middle of…

  • Strategikon

    Maurice's Strategikon: Handbook of Byzantine Military Strategy translated by George T. Dennis This is definitely a book for a select audience.…

  • The Jane Austen Project, by Kathleen Flynn

    Time Travelers go back in time to meet Jane Austen. Harper Perennial, 2017, 384 pages Perfect for fans of Jane Austen, this engrossing…

  • Post a new comment

    Error

    default userpic

    Your reply will be screened

    When you submit the form an invisible reCAPTCHA check will be performed.
    You must follow the Privacy Policy and Google Terms of use.
  • 53 comments
Previous
← Ctrl ← Alt
Next
Ctrl → Alt →
Previous
← Ctrl ← Alt
Next
Ctrl → Alt →

  • The Black Arrow

    The Black Arrow by Robert Louis Stevenson Action and adventure during the War of the Roses. Young Dick Shelton finds himself in the middle of…

  • Strategikon

    Maurice's Strategikon: Handbook of Byzantine Military Strategy translated by George T. Dennis This is definitely a book for a select audience.…

  • The Jane Austen Project, by Kathleen Flynn

    Time Travelers go back in time to meet Jane Austen. Harper Perennial, 2017, 384 pages Perfect for fans of Jane Austen, this engrossing…