elliwen (elliwen) wrote in bookish,
elliwen
elliwen
bookish

Star Wars: Crosscurrent by Paul S. Kemp

I haven't read many of the Star Wars EU books and the ones I have read have been disappointing. I think on one level I am hoping to recreate the experience I had all those years ago sitting in the theater watching the original Star Wars movie. I was filled with wonder and delight watching the heroes from long ago and far far away. And of course that isn't going to happen, and I'm not the same person I was back then.

But I digress.

The book covers a lot of familiar Star Wars territory. There is a town that bears more than a passing resemblance to Mos Eisley, a Cantina full of dancing girls and shady characters, a smuggler and his sidekick. But at least it doesn't use Luke and Leia and the usual cast.

The plot involves a time traveling Sith ship from 5000 years ago and a jedi from the "present time" who's been having a vision so powerful that he is compelled to seek out it's meaning. The entire cast converges at a seemingly abandoned Imperial research station.

What I liked : The plot moved quickly and there was a good amount of action. There are some links that tie this book to other EU works, and as I said above I like seeing different characters beyond the core movie characters and their offspring. It's obviously set up for a sequel but this book's plot lines are tied up at the end.

What I didn't like : I thought the two jedi were kind of generic and not distinguishable from each other. The scenes with an Anzat assasin were pretty squicky.
Tags: genre: science fiction, xxx author last name: i-q
Subscribe

  • The Black Arrow

    The Black Arrow by Robert Louis Stevenson Action and adventure during the War of the Roses. Young Dick Shelton finds himself in the middle of…

  • Strategikon

    Maurice's Strategikon: Handbook of Byzantine Military Strategy translated by George T. Dennis This is definitely a book for a select audience.…

  • The Jane Austen Project, by Kathleen Flynn

    Time Travelers go back in time to meet Jane Austen. Harper Perennial, 2017, 384 pages Perfect for fans of Jane Austen, this engrossing…

  • Post a new comment

    Error

    default userpic

    Your reply will be screened

    When you submit the form an invisible reCAPTCHA check will be performed.
    You must follow the Privacy Policy and Google Terms of use.
  • 2 comments