Its Ok To Smile ....If Only For Yourself (hinatafairy) wrote in bookish,
Its Ok To Smile ....If Only For Yourself
hinatafairy
bookish

  • Mood:

Th1rteen R3asons Why by Jay Asher.



taken from amazon.com : Clay Jensen returns home from school to find a strange package with his name on it lying on his porch. Inside he discovers several cassette tapes recorded by Hannah Baker, his classmate and crush, who committed suicide two weeks earlier. Hannah's voice explains that there are 13 reasons she decided to end her life. Clay is one of them. If he listens, he'll find out why.

Clay spends the night crisscrossing his town with Hannah as his guide. He becomes a first-hand witness to Hannah's pain, and learns the truth about himself - a truth he never wanted to face.

my rating: B+

WARNING! REVIEW CONTAINS SPOILERS FOR BOOK! READ AS YOU PLEASE!


The story begins where Clay is mailing the tapes to the next person on the list. So it begins where it with the ending almost. Which most books start either at the actual beginning and proceed, or the middle of it and catch the reader up. 13 reasons why starts at the end then rewinds to the begin where Clay first received the package that would change him and 13 other people possibly for their entire lives.

The book revolves around Clays first love Hannah reasons for killing her self. And how all a group of 13 people had a part in her decision to take her life.

All the reasons why she chose to kill her self, the reader gets to listen to the tapes along with Clay as he narrates through the story, wondering why he's on the tapes and how Hannah could have done this to her self.

13 reasons why is a well written story about teenage anguish, and touches subjects that happen all the time most all that people have all experienced.

Being new to a town, making new friends, rumors, first kisses, and loosing friends over dumb things.

it also deals with more gritty things that most people would only discuss in whispers or in the confines of a counselors office.

Being taken advantage of, rape, and suicide.

Hannah has a no holds bar on explaining her reasons. She holds nothing back and it makes her realistic. Towards the end of the book you feel for her and for Clay who has to be on these tapes and go through the anguish of hearing her voice blame these people for her decision. But Hannah also blames her self towards the end. of some things that have happened that she could have stopped but didn't. things she regretted.

On tape 13 Side A Hannah explains in her last confession in a sincere way that she was sorry it had to come to what has transpired but there was no other way. She ends with an apology, "I'm Sorry." The last words Clay ever spoke to her and the last he will ever hear from her on these tapes. Until Side B of tape 13.

The tape clicks to soft breathing then "thank you" and the tapes are done.

I found the book very interesting and was very well written, and would recommended it to every teenager out there. Its a real look into what goes on in the real world.

No perfect worded scripts. No posh looking girls. No Calvin Klein model boys.

Nettie grittie truth of what can go on in a teenage life. And how a few choice can change everything, a persons life, with a few reasons everything could have been different.

HinataFairy
Subscribe

  • The Black Arrow

    The Black Arrow by Robert Louis Stevenson Action and adventure during the War of the Roses. Young Dick Shelton finds himself in the middle of…

  • Strategikon

    Maurice's Strategikon: Handbook of Byzantine Military Strategy translated by George T. Dennis This is definitely a book for a select audience.…

  • The Jane Austen Project, by Kathleen Flynn

    Time Travelers go back in time to meet Jane Austen. Harper Perennial, 2017, 384 pages Perfect for fans of Jane Austen, this engrossing…

  • Post a new comment

    Error

    default userpic

    Your reply will be screened

    When you submit the form an invisible reCAPTCHA check will be performed.
    You must follow the Privacy Policy and Google Terms of use.
  • 6 comments