lissa (rhianonsidhe) wrote in bookish,
lissa
rhianonsidhe
bookish

21 days later...

And I've finally finished Bram Stoker's Dracula. Normally it doesn't take me that long to read a book, but this time around I really took my time. That, and it was a little hard to get into the style of writing and the language... 'cause I don't usually go out and grab books that were published back before the turn of the 20th century.

I'm very glad that I decided to read Dracula. And many thanks to those that suggested it (and to all the other suggestions). Once I was able to get my head around the writing and the switching between journals/letters/etc., it was wonderful. I loved it.

My immediate thought on finishing the book was "That is a vampire story." There are so many vampire themed novels and series out now that I've actually been turned off by the whole thing. I'd like to read more novels like Dracula, where the "traditional" vampire is depicted. Interview with the Vampire was good and I may read that again sometime, but new books are always welcomed. Any suggestions?

Changing it up a bit with my book reading now. I picked up Anthony Bourdain's Kitchen Confidential the last time I went to the bookstore. I've only read the preface, but I think I'm going to love this book.
Subscribe

  • The Black Arrow

    The Black Arrow by Robert Louis Stevenson Action and adventure during the War of the Roses. Young Dick Shelton finds himself in the middle of…

  • Strategikon

    Maurice's Strategikon: Handbook of Byzantine Military Strategy translated by George T. Dennis This is definitely a book for a select audience.…

  • The Jane Austen Project, by Kathleen Flynn

    Time Travelers go back in time to meet Jane Austen. Harper Perennial, 2017, 384 pages Perfect for fans of Jane Austen, this engrossing…

  • Post a new comment

    Error

    default userpic

    Your reply will be screened

    When you submit the form an invisible reCAPTCHA check will be performed.
    You must follow the Privacy Policy and Google Terms of use.
  • 22 comments

  • The Black Arrow

    The Black Arrow by Robert Louis Stevenson Action and adventure during the War of the Roses. Young Dick Shelton finds himself in the middle of…

  • Strategikon

    Maurice's Strategikon: Handbook of Byzantine Military Strategy translated by George T. Dennis This is definitely a book for a select audience.…

  • The Jane Austen Project, by Kathleen Flynn

    Time Travelers go back in time to meet Jane Austen. Harper Perennial, 2017, 384 pages Perfect for fans of Jane Austen, this engrossing…