elaborationlove (elaborationlove) wrote in bookish,
elaborationlove
elaborationlove
bookish

Title: Pride and Prejudice and Zombies
Author: Jane Austen and Seth Grahame-Smith
Year of Publication: 2009
Genre: Classic, fantasy, humor, romance
Pages: 317
First Line: "It is a truth universally acknowledged that a zombie in possession of brains must be in want of more brains."

Summary: As our story opens, a mysterious plague has fallen on the quiet English village of Meryton -- and the dead are returning to life! Feisty heroine Elizabeth Bennet is determined to wipe out the zombie menace, but she's soon distracted by the arrival of the haughty and arrogant Mr. Darcy. What ensues is a delightful comedy of manners with plenty of civilized sparring between the two young lovers -- and even more violent sparring on the blood-soaked battlefield. Can Elizabeth vanquish the spawn of Satan? And overcome the social prejudices or the class-conscious landed gentry?

Source: Back of book

Review: Oh, God. So fantastic. Brilliant. I've read the original at least twice, and I've read all of Austen's other novels, except for Northanger Abbey. And I love this book. It was funny, clever, interesting, and insightful as far as the original goes. I feel like I got a lot more out of this than the original. Granted, I was twelve when I read P&P the first time, but this is so good. A lot of people may feel that it is a sort of defiling or something of Austen's original, but it's really great. I loved this. Definitely worth a read, although I think you'll get more out of it and enjoy it more if you've read the original. I honestly hope this is made into a movie. Also, the discussion questions which follow the novel are hilarious and meant for entertainment; so be sure to check that out as well.

I will note that the characters are slightly different, or at the very least severely exaggerated, in this book. The illustrations even add to that. I feel if this was made into a movie, it would be even more difficult to recognize it as P&P solely because of the differences from the original characters, but they're different in a way that makes it fantastic.

Worst part: There were some lulls in the text that seemed zombie-less and I felt a few places could have used a little more zombie action.

Best part: The idea itself is brilliant but the general execution was wonderful as well.

Grade: A+

Other Books by This Author: Quirk Classics published other books such as Sense and Sensibility and Sea Monsters and Android Karenina.


57 / 50 books. 114% done!
Tags: genre: fantasy, genre: fiction, genre: romance, review, xxx author last name: a-h, xxx author last name: r-z
Subscribe

  • The Black Arrow

    The Black Arrow by Robert Louis Stevenson Action and adventure during the War of the Roses. Young Dick Shelton finds himself in the middle of…

  • Strategikon

    Maurice's Strategikon: Handbook of Byzantine Military Strategy translated by George T. Dennis This is definitely a book for a select audience.…

  • The Jane Austen Project, by Kathleen Flynn

    Time Travelers go back in time to meet Jane Austen. Harper Perennial, 2017, 384 pages Perfect for fans of Jane Austen, this engrossing…

  • Post a new comment

    Error

    default userpic

    Your reply will be screened

    When you submit the form an invisible reCAPTCHA check will be performed.
    You must follow the Privacy Policy and Google Terms of use.
  • 6 comments