January 20th, 2018

Golden Hair

The War of the Ring

The War of the Ring: The History of The Lord of the Rings, Part Three by J.R.R. Tolkien and Christopher Tolkien

This covers the second half of Two Towers and the first half of Return. Less fumbling about for inspiration than the opening -- but some, with the future Orthanc stone first being just shattered when it hits the ground, or Faramir's name and relationship to Boromir -- and a lot of work with time tables. (This is what happens when you split up the party and four separate courses of events have to interweave.)
inverarity

Sleeping Giants, by Sylvain Neuvel

World War Z meets giant robots.


Sleeping Giants

Del Rey, 2016, pages320



An inventive debut in the tradition of World War Z and The Martian, told in interviews, journal entries, transcripts, and news articles, Sleeping Giants is a literary thriller fueled by a quest for truth - and a fight for control of earthshaking power.

A girl named Rose is riding her new bike near her home in Deadwood, South Dakota, when she falls through the earth. She wakes up at the bottom of a square hole, its walls glowing with intricate carvings. But the firemen who come to save her peer down upon something even stranger: a little girl in the palm of a giant metal hand.

Seventeen years later, the mystery of the bizarre artifact remains unsolved - its origins, architects, and purpose unknown. Its carbon dating defies belief; military reports are redacted; theories are floated, then rejected.

But some can never stop searching for answers.

Rose Franklin is now a highly trained physicist leading a top-secret team to crack the hand's code. And along with her colleagues, she is being interviewed by a nameless interrogator whose power and purview are as enigmatic as the provenance of relic. What's clear is that Rose and her compatriots are on the edge of unraveling history's most perplexing discovery - and figuring out what it portends for humanity. But once the pieces of the puzzle are in place, will the result prove to be an instrument of lasting peace or a weapon of mass destruction?


How to make a serious sci-fi novel out of Voltron.




My complete list of book reviews.